Damien Rice – 9 Crimes

So Damien Rice is a little too depressing for me to listen to all the time, but I do recall some nice memories of driving through upstate New York listening to his songs, particularly The Blower’s Daughter. I really like this next song, 9 Crimes. It of course has the same style and low-tone aura that characterizes Damien Rice, and I love the mix between male and female vocals that comes with it.

The cover I’ve got for you this time is also a submission. Thanks for the tip, because I have a feeling that a lot of readers will like this one!

It’s done by youtubers benpleasance and sirigrace as a collaboration project. As far as I know, they don’t actually know each other, but decided to record their parts separately and merge them together to make one very excellent video. I love that whole idea–it’s just people getting together–whether in person or over the internet–to make music just because they love to make music. If everyone had this attitude, the world would probably be a better place. It’s a great collaboration. I love the tabbed guitar for the piano part, and both artists have great voices that complement each other well. Be sure to check out their over covers, because they’ve got a lot of good stuff. Here’s the vid, so enjoy:

And of course, here’s the original: 9 Crimes by Damien Rice

Leave a Reply

