Daft Punk – Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger; Digital Love

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: I always admire an artist who can take a heavily electric/electronic/synthetic song and recast it totally acoustically. I’ve tried to pluck out some Daft Punk tunes on my guitar when I find the time, but I can never quite find a way to do it correctly. However, today I’ve got for you two covers that succeed in doing so, with Daft Punk’s Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger and Digital Love.

This first youtuber’s name suits them well: ReturnofSimple. They take the original (and completely synthesized) HBFS and do it entirely on their own, using piano, drums, and bass. These kinds of covers show that it is possible to make House-esque music without actually being “house” proper–that is, using the electronic effects and samples that are so prominent. At the risk of harshly criticizing the house movement, I’d say that anything that can be done synthetically can be done better with authentic musical instruments. At further risk of pissing off Daft Punk fans (I happen to be one myself, so don’t sue me!), I wonder why the musicians even bother to produce synthetic music. Personally I think synthesized music is a lot easier to make and requires less creativity and skill, but hey–you’ll catch me dancing to Daft Punk or Girl Talk at the club. At any rate, I still applaud Daft Punk for making such an excellent song that makes me wanna dance every time I hear it, and they put on a good show, too (Brooklyn ’07!). Anyway, I feel I’ve digressed. Here’s the video I mentioned, featuring ReturnofSimple:

If you’re a regular reader (do we even have any?), then by now you’ll know I love music that features a tabbed acoustic guitar and a singer (or two, or three, what have you). I should come as no surprise that I’ve chosen this next cover to post. It comes from youtuber Jamesdtl. Again, what I admire is the electonica sound redone acoustically. But more than that, he actually takes some liberties with melody and rhythm, making the song his own, and of course making it a well-done cover. He’s got a nice voice that’s complemented by his skill on guitar, so check it out here:

Of course, here are the originals. The video of HBFS is taken from the movie Interstella 5555, an animated movie about an alien rock band done entirely to the sound track of Daft Punk’s Discovery: Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger
Digital Love

2 responses to “Daft Punk – Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger; Digital Love

  1. i’m a regular reader! i just usually don’t comment. love your blog though

    and yeah i agree electronic to acoustic is great!

  2. thanks for reading, Sara! We just posted a new cover, hopefully you’ll enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

