Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Maps

I know what you’re thinking, but just read this post first and I’ll get to my editorial statement at the end.

Even though Lisa wrote a lovely post on the Yeah Yeah Yeahs a few weeks ago, Imma give ’em another go. Lisa mentioned that YYY was one the bands that first brought us together, and it was actually this song, Maps, that united us in the first place.

So in honour of that, I’ve got a few great–and really different–covers for you today.

The first comes from the UK youtube duo NickDanMusic. This cover is really simple, but obviously well done and a pleasure to listen to. The two guitars together create a nice sound that you just can’t get with one person doing a cover. Love the falsetto, too. Check it out here:

I find the second cover to be pretty creative and worth a listen. You know I’m a sucker for tabbed guitar, so this one by youtuber electrostripes is quite alright by me. Great vocals, great tab interpretation, a little reworking of the chord progression. View here:

You know what I love even more than tabbed guitar? Folk overtones! The Swedish duo nikiyrla does an interpretation of the song that is very different from the original. While I personally love the added harmonies, it’s a bit too much for some people. What do you think?

And finally, this video takes the cake. This video from primaryern was done entirely a capella by one person, then merged together to form one entertaining video. I liked it and posted this on my facebook a few months ago. I got a range of responses, including “This is the best thing ever!” and “I can only take about 10 seconds of this.” While this version is not as pleasing to listen to, it certainly shows technical skill and creativity in reinterpretation, which is what great covers are all about. Love it or hate it? Lemme know! Check it out here:

Check out the original here: Maps by YYY

And for my editorial: Yes, I apologize for going so long without posting. I’m finally on holiday and have the time to get away from school enough to write again. Sorry for taking so long! I’ve been checking the site stats and have seen that we’ve been getting daily hits, even during our several-week cover drought. So thanks again for reading. We’ll keep ’em coming.

Leave a Reply

