Lover of the Month – ChrisandDan08

It’s that time of the month, finally–our first featured cover artist, with multiple cover songs by one artist. Most people cover a song because they love it–thus our term “Lover” for an amateur cover artist. So, Once every 30 or so days we’ll be featuring one amateur artist we like, for any reason. Our first ever Lover of the Month is youtuber chrisanddan08.

I’ve seen these guys before, and I actually passed over some of their songs in favor of posting other covers of artists such as The Postal Service and The Shins. However, I mainly passed over because the search for a covered song moved in a different direction. Those were difficult decisions because I really liked these guys and wanted to post some of their stuff. Today we’ve got covers of The Decemberists, Neutral Milk Hotel, Brand New, and Weezer.

ChrisandDan08, as you might have guessed, it not just one person, and not even two, but multiple people all getting together to make music and post it on the net (I wonder which one is Chris and which one is Dan). They’ve got a rather large library of covers of groups such as Death Cab, Rilo Kiley, Smashing Pumpkins, Panic at the Disco, Iron and Wine, etc, so I’d suggest checking out their youtube channel.

The first video I actually didn’t pass over; I was just waiting for an appropriate time to post a Decemberists cover. This song, Oceanside, is one of my favorites–it reminds me of the brief time I spent on the east coast, as well as my hometown back on the west coast. What I like about the cover is the usage of the harmonica as well as the harmonies–not to mention multiple guitars! Check it out here:

The next video we’ve got is a cover of The King of Carrot Flowers Part 1 by Neutral Milk Hotel. A friend put this song on a mix for me some years ago, and I’ve loved it since then, despite not exploring more of their music. They’re pretty faithful to the original version–it’s short, simple, and sweet. I love the keyboard synthesizing the accordian (?) in the original. I wouldn’t mind hearing this at on open mic. Enjoy here:

The next song is a cover of The Quiet Things That No One Ever Knows by Brand New. I like this version because it’s not so “screamo” as the original–it’s soft but steady, simple but not lacking. They stay faithful to the original, including the harmonies. Nice touch by these guys. Watch it here:

Finally, one last cover is of Say It Ain’t So by Weezer. Again, I’m gonna have to compliment these guys on taking a song that’s best enjoyed with a speaker that can handle several decibels of sound and recasting it in a soft version that can be played and enjoyed at home with the simplest of instruments. I sang this song at Karaoke the other night and the company’s studio cover was (obviously) no where near as good as this one. These guys do things a little differently, but stay true to the original. Check it out here:

Got pink and black and blue for you, got all the originals here for you:
Oceanside (live) by The Decemberists
The King of Carrot Flowers Part 1 by Neutral Milk Hotel
The Quiet Things That No One Ever Knows by Brand New
Say It Ain’t So by Weezer

4 responses to “Lover of the Month – ChrisandDan08

  1. hi-
    This is THE chris (which one I am in the videos will remain the mystery) and as nerdy as this may be (and I didn’t mean to be the first, but oh well…) I wanted to post to the article and thank you for this honor. You will notice that it has been some time since we’ve covered anything as Daniel ran off to med school and left me a lone man in the geriatric winters of Utah, but we’re hoping for a, as Daniel put it best, REUNION TOUR. Couldn’t have done it without the fans… and I guess the guitars too, and maybe the computer… with the internet and most of all, the amazing bands that provide us the means whereby we… well… cover! Thanks.

  2. ha, this is awesome, im dans brother, and im in the oceanside video. Thanks for putting this up, its cool to be noticed

  3. Im Lindsey, another family member, unfortunately not in the video. I have failed to meet my brothers and sisters standards when it comes to being musically talented. Anyways just wanted to say Dan is the skinny tall one who is going balled šŸ™‚

  4. Sam is my little brother playing the other guitar and Autumn is little sister singing some impressive vocals!

Leave a Reply

