Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees

Fake plastic trees, despite their tackiness, are probably the best bet for me right now. I had a tiny pine tree in my apartment that I neglected almost to the point of death, at which point my friend kindly offered to adopt the tree to save its life. Perhaps I should have just gotten the fake one in the first place…

But enough about me, more about the music: I’ve got two great covers of Fake Plastic Trees by Radiohead for you today. This has probably been covered by a number of artists, including one of my favorites, Alanis Morissette. I only wish I could have been there for her live cover. Imagine seeing one of your favorite artists covering another of your favorite artists! It would be total aural pleasure.

The first cover I’ve found for you today is a self-proclaimed “semi-unplugged” version by youtuber jwc083. The mix between acoustic and electric creates a good dynamic for this song. The vocals are great, the rhythm of the acoustic is steady, and the electric riffs almost make you think you’re listening to Radiohead in the first place. Enjoy this great rendition here:

The next cover I’ve got for you is awesome on so many levels. I came home after a stressful and tiring day and found this on youtube. Listening to youtuber melissa3110 sing Fake Plastic Trees instantly made my troubles go away, at least for the duration of the song. The tabbing in place of strumming is a nice touch, and her voice is so smooth and calming that I can only describe this video as complete and utter peace. That’s all I felt while listening. Slip into serenity here:

This is reminiscent of Alanis’s cover, not only because she’s a girl covering Radiohead, but also because it’s got that same sort of calming effect. However, I actually like this better than Alanis’s cover, which you can listen to here: Fake Plastic Trees covered by Alanis Morissette

And, as always, you can check out the original here: Radiohead’s Fake Plastic Trees

Leave a Reply

