The Shins – Sleeping Lessons

With so many classic hits such as New Slang, Caring is Creepy, Young Pilgrims, and Phantom Limb (this is just a short list of my favorites; I could go on and on), you might wonder why today I have focused on the relatively lesser-known Sleeping Lessons by The Shins. Well, I really love this song, the opener to their album Wincing the Night Away. This is actually one of my favorite songs of theirs, and I think it’s the perfect opener to an album–slow at first, but builds momentum and then ends right after the most exciting part, prepping the listener for the glory to come on the later tracks. Every time I listen to this song, I’m tempted to press the back button on my ipod, but it goes straight into another fun song, Australia.

The first of two covers I have for you today is pretty creative. The original tabs out a scale-like riff, but youtube user XtopherMonge tabs out the notes of the chord progression, which I think adds a new dimension to an already great song. He’s also able to hit the high notes, which is impressive in my book. Enjoy it here, and check out the rest of his vids. He’s got more covers and some original songs:

The second video is from youtuber jordanstalling. What I really like about this cover is the multiple parts–you’ve got keyboard, drums, guitar, singing, etc. Overall it makes for a fun cover. They also take some liberties with the melody, which is an interesting touch. They’ve also got a lot of other covers I can’t keep away from! Watch their cover of Sleeping Lessons here:

These guys also have a pretty good cover of Young Folks by Peter, Bjorn, and John that I somehow glossed over on my earlier post. Check out the link for a vid!

Of course, here’s the original: Sleeping Lessons on YouTube

Leave a Reply

