Alanis Morissette — Hands Clean, No Pressure Over Cappuccino

Alanis gets a bad rap as being simple an angry Canadian 20s-something woman who yells into a microphone about her lost loves. I’ll give this criticism some fair ground, since there was a bit of yelling on her album “Jagged Little Pill.” But I think she’s come a long way since then, and two songs in particular I think show this. The first is “Hands Clean.” This is one of my all-time favorites, not only for its rhythmic beat and lyrics, but also for the catchy guitar riff. The second is “No Pressure Over Cappuccino.” I like this one because it was recorded on her MTV Unplugged album, an album which I think shows how much she has matured since Jagged Little Pill first came out.

Here’s the first video:

This one’s by a youtube user called lillyanne3579. She’s got a pretty good voice and she keeps the rhythm well. All in all, I think it’s a good cover.

The second video is by a youtube user called ferfhbs. It was hard to choose between posting this one and the first one, so I chose to post both. What I really like about this one is the opening–it’s so sterile, it’s fun to imagine where she might be.

Enjoy:

Finally, I get a lot of crap for being both a man and a fan of Alanis. But this next video, by youtube user 90sjesus, lets me know that there are others like me. Male fans of Alanis are not very common, and male covers of Alanis are even less common. That, combined with 90sjesus’s great voice, are why I like this cover.  Plus, he does a lot of other Alanis covers. Check out his page, but enjoy this song first:

Here’s the links to the original songs.

Alanis singing “Hands Clean” live on the Tonight Show with Jay Leno

Alanis singing “No Pressure Over Cappuccino” unplugged.

This is a bit unrelated, but I thought I’d share it anyway. At TheCoverStory, our philosophy is to share amateur covers. This next cover is not amateur, but I like it anyway. This is a Korean singer covering “Hands Clean.” She can’t say all of the English words correctly, but hey–give her a break, English is not her first language. Anyway, I think it’s an interesting cover, so here’s a link:

Cherry Filter live on Korean Radio covering Hands Clean by Alanis Morissette.

Leave a Reply

